Scholarships and Awards


Adele I. Kessler Scholarship Fund

This award was established in 1984 by the Adele I. Kessler Foundation of New Jersey. It provides a scholarship to a current Cooley Student from New Jersey.

Alumni Memorial Scholarship Fund

This fund was established by donations from the school’s alumni to provide scholarships to second-year and third-year students who demonstrate the character and potential to become outstanding lawyers and have financial need.

Black Law Students Association (BLSA) Scholarship

This fund is used to provide scholarship support to students who serve in leadership roles in the Black Law Students Association.

Black Law Students Association (Auburn Hills)
Balancing the Scales Endowed Scholarship Fund

Established in 2010 by the Black Law Students Association at Cooley's Auburn Hills Campus, this will provide financial assistance to deserving law students who show a commitment to the mission of both Cooley and BLSA. Scholarship will be based on scholarship ability, good citizenship, and participation in the life of the law school.

Dale Malewska/Robert Wissmuller Fund Scholarship

Established in 2003, the fund will be awarded to a currently enrolled student who has earned at least nine credit hours at Cooley and who is a student of good character and in good academic standing: with preference given to those individuals who hold a position at any Cooley student publication.

Dr. Patricia Wilson Academic Achievement Award

The award was approved by President LeDuc upon the retirement of Dr. Patricia Wilson, the founding Director of the Academic Resource Center (ARC). This award is given annually during Hilary Term to a student or graduating senior who has been successful academically and has, in some way, been affiliated with the Academic Resource Center. Also the recipient should portray the characteristics of Dr. Wilson – compassion, strong work ethic, and service.

Endowed Scholarship for Students with Financial Need

The Endowed Scholarship Fund provides scholarships to third-year students (those who have completed 60 credit hours) who have substantial financial need. To be eligible for consideration and selection, students must be in good academic and administrative standing, and may not be recipients of merit or other scholarships. Recipients shall not have been subject disciplinary action. The scholarship will be 10 percent of tuition or up to 30 credit hours, beginning with the completion of 60 credit hours. Students who are selected, but become eligible for more merit scholarships, will receive the scholarship that provides the higher amount.

Eric Ecker Memorial Scholarship Fund

Through the initiative of Professor Justin Brooks, this fund was established in 1998 in memory of Eric Ecker, a Cooley student who passed away before completing his legal education at Cooley Law School. This fund provides a scholarship each year to a student who engages in an externship involving progressive legal work, such as Eric’s participation in the Death Penalty Resource Center.

Eugene S. Quigley / Delta Theta Phi Scholarship

This scholarship is given by Delta Theta Phi legal fraternity to a member who has been active in the fraternity’s functions, achieved academically, and has financial need.

General Scholarships

This fund is used to support scholarships for our students where most needed.

Gerald Boston Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2000 in honor of the memory of Cooley Law Professor Gerald Boston, this fund provides a scholarship to a student with financial need who has completed at least sixty credit hours, whose academic record demonstrates improvement and perseverance, and who has a passion for the study of law, a commitment to public or community service, and has worked for positive change within the school.

John E. Cross Memorial Scholarship Fund

Established in memory of Professor John E. Cross, who established Cooley’s Trial Workshop Program, this fund provides a scholarship each year to a Trial Workshop student who best demonstrates trial skills and exemplifies the attributes of Professor Cross – high professional standards, respect for the law, and compassion and empathy for others.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Fund

To honor the memory of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., this fund was established to provide a scholarship each year to a Cooley student on the basis of scholarship, extracurricular participation, public service, and financial need.

Meryl Markowitz Memorial Scholarship Fund

This scholarship was given to honor the memory of 1998 McDonald Class graduate Meryl Markowitz, who passed away before she could begin her legal career. It is presented to the female student who best exemplifies Ms. Markowitz and her zest for life. Preference is given to applicants with a background in providing public safety, law enforcement, fire fighting and/or emergency medical services.

Melissa Mitchell Endowed Scholarship Fund

This endowed scholarship fund was created to honor the memory of Melissa Mitchell, a 2003 Swanson Class graduate. Gifts have been received to date from family members, friends, colleagues, and Cooley faculty and staff.

Michael D. O'Hara Scholarship

This scholarship is a memorial award established in honor of the late Michael D. O’Hara. It is presented annually to a deserving Cooley student who hails from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

Overbeck Family Scholarship Fund

Established in 2014 by WMU-Cooley Law student Edward Overbeck in honor of his family, this fund provides financial support to WMU-Cooley students who are graduates of Calvin College, Mr. Overbeck's alma mater. The award is determined based upon candidates’ intellectual ability, financial need, participation in the life of the Law School, relevant volunteer activities, relevant life and work experience, work ethic, desire to achieve, and other aspects of their character.

Rosa Parks Scholarship Fund

Established in 1985 to honor distinguished civil rights leader Mrs. Rosa Parks and in recognition of her appearance at the Thomas M. Cooley Law School, this fund provides a scholarship each year to a Cooley student on the basis of scholarship, extracurricular participation, public service, and financial need.

Make an Online Gift

Add special instructions to direct your gift to specific Giving Opportunities

$25, $50, $100 or more...


Make a Gift by Check

Click here for the Giving Form. Make your check to: Western Michigan University Cooley Law School

Mail to:
WMU-Cooley Law School
Office of Development
300 South Capitol Avenue
Lansing, Michigan 48933

Contact Us

Pamela Heos
Director of Alumni & Donor Relations
(517) 371-5140 ext. 2014
[email protected]

Questions? Contact the Alumni Office [email protected].

An independent, private, non-profit educational institution affiliated with Western Michigan University. The Law School, as an independent institution, is solely responsible for its academic program. Accredited by the American Bar Association and the Higher Learning Commission. The Law School has campuses across Michigan in Lansing, Auburn Hills, Grand Rapids and in Tampa Bay, Florida.

Admissions | Non-Discrimination Policy | Public Information | Mobile

© Western Michigan University Cooley Law School 2015

Western Michigan University Cooley Law School
In corde hominem est anima legis.

WMU Cooley Law Designated 2016 Military Friendly® School