WMU-Cooley Law Board Chair, Graduates, Honored By State Bar

During the State Bar of Michigan’s (SBM) annual meeting in Novi, WMU-Cooley Law School Board Chair Lawrence P. Nolan was presented with the Roberts P. Hudson Award. In addition to Nolan’s honor, graduate Mary Chartier was presented the Michael C. Franck Award and graduates Aaron V. Burrell and Chelsea Rebeck were sworn in as SBM Representative Assembly chair and vice chair.

Larry Nolan and company

The Hudson Award is presented periodically to commend attorneys for outstanding and unique service to, and on behalf of, the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public. Nolan’s service to the SBM and the profession are demonstrated through his volunteer service, which began when he was first elected to serve on the bar’s board of commissioners in 2009 and continued as he worked his way up through the executive board ranks, attaining the role of president from 2016-2017.

Pictured: State Bar of Michigan President Dennis M. Barnes (right) and Past President Jennifer M. Grieco (left) present WMU-Cooley Law School Board Chair Lawrence P. Nolan with the Roberts P. Hudson Award during the bar’s  annual meeting in Novi on September 26. Photo Courtesy: State Bar of Michigan.

Nolan, president of Nolan Thomsen & Villas, P.C., has continuously been active with the SBM since 1978, when he began serving as a member of the Young Lawyers Section Council. He served on multiple committees and eventually as chair of the section from 1983-1984. His dedication to the SBM is recognized by the many committees he has served on since 1984, some of which include: the Pro Bono Committee, Delivery of Legal Services Committee, Local Bar Association Review Committee, Prepaid Legal Services Committee, Health Insurance Committee, Judicial Qualifications Committee, Programs and Services Committee, Lawyers and Judges Assistance Program, Education and Events Committee, Public Policy Image and Identity Committee, the 21st Century Task Force, and others.

Nolan has served on WMU-Cooley’s board of directors for 37 years, longer than any other board member.
Chartier was presented the Michael C. Franck Award, which is given by the SBM Representative Assembly to an attorney who has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of the profession. As partner and litigator with Chartier Nyamfukudza P.L.C., Chartier has represented clients accused of white-collar crimes, such as health care fraud, mortgage fraud, and money laundering, as well as clients accused of drug dealing, terrorism, crimes against the United States, bank robbery, criminal sexual conduct, and homicide. She has litigated and won numerous motions, including recently obtaining a dismissal in a felony drug case in which the police illegally entered the client’s home.

Before working in private practice, Chartier worked at the Michigan Supreme Court for Justice Michael F. Cavanagh, as well as at the Court of Appeals.  She has received numerous awards, including being named one of Michigan Lawyers Weekly's "Leaders in the Law" in 2018 and one of the top "Women in the Law" in 2013. 

As chair of the 150-member Representative Assembly, Burrell will oversee the policy-making board of the SBM. The Representative Assembly was created by the Michigan Supreme Court in 1971 to increase geographic representation in bar policy.

Burrell, who represents the third judicial circuit in the Representative Assembly, practices with Dickinson Wright LLC. He is a member of the board of directors of the Oakland County Bar Association; is a past-president of the D. Augustus Straker Bar Association and vice president of the D. Augustus Straker Bar Foundation. Burrell was named a foundation fellow of both the American Bar Foundation and the Oakland County Bar Foundation, served as affiliate representative of the National Bar Association, and previously co-chaired the State Bar of Michigan Equal Access Initiative.

Rebeck practices tax law for individuals and businesses at Rebeck & Allen Attorneys at Law in Southfield. In addition to the SBM’s Representative Assembly, she also serves on both the Audit Committee and the Finance Committee for the SBM’s Board of Commissioners. She was also selected to an elite group of attorneys serving the bar’s Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee.


Oct 01 2019


WMU-Cooley Law School
300 South Capitol Avenue
Lansing, Michigan 48933 
(517) 371-5140

Click here for a full sitemap

Click here for Consumer Information
(ABA-Required Disclosures)

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School is an independent, private, non-profit educational institution affiliated with Western Michigan University. The affiliation between WMU and WMU-Cooley, which are legally and financially independent institutions, will end on or before November 5, 2023. As an independent institution, the Law School is solely responsible for its academic program. Accredited by the American Bar Association and the Higher Learning Commission. 

Read non-discrimination policy

If you encounter accessibility barriers while on our website, please notify our Accessibility Office using the Inaccessible Content Notification Form.

WMU Cooley Logo
In corde hominum est anima legis.

© 2021 WMU Cooley Law School